All Topics / Help Needed! / New and very keen to learn

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of Dan19Dan19
    Participant
    @dan19

Hi everybody,

I'm a 21 year old student and very interested in property investment. I still live at home with family and my dad is a full time hotel accountant (the only one working in the family), thus, leaving no time to do much research in the property market. Lately we've purchased our first IP in the same suburb we live in, it is currently rented out to students and we provide homestay service (my mum). We've basically loaned 100% (600,000) for this property and making returns of roughly 4500 per month (will be stable for roughly 2 years as they are under 18y.o students and happy with the place).
    I always look at houses on realestate.com.au/ and constantly go for inspections for future potential opportunities. My dad is very conservative and it took me forever to convince him to buy our first IP. Now the property has gone up in value and we've made slight renovations so the house is in good nick.

I am now looking for ways to go about my next IP, I mainly look at suburbs close to my PPOR as i know the area well and feel confident. Houses around my area have been rising and prices are becoming high, making the risk higher and even harder to convince dad. I've been reading lately on sub-division and renovations to IP, to renovate and sell quickly or buy and hold. I've talked to dad and he said he can only take another $500,000 out of the bank which makes it hard to purchase properties around my area. I also use realestateview.com.au for some brief statistics on areas of interest, as i mainly look at suburbs which have schools, universities and shops close by for people.

I'm located in Melbourne, Australia and have been looking at the Eastern suburbs of Melbourne. Any advice, information or personal experiences would be greatly appreciated.