All Topics / Help Needed! / I need brutally honest advice from real estate agents past or present (or anyone else for that matter)

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of dreamtobelievedreamtobelieve
    Participant
    @dreamtobelieve

Yes I am aware you wouldn't usually ask for investing advice from a RE agent but on this occassion it is more about the proffession and whether it would be advised for me to move back into in a bid to stay both close to the action on a full time basis and as a mean to facilitate my investing strategy.

OK so heres my background so my plea makes a little more sense. Basically I have relatively recently (2 years ago) relocated to Australia from the UK where I was a successful RE agent in central London for a numner of years. Having arrived in a very flat Sydney market with the GFC only just starting to take affect, I thought it best to take a more stable marketing position, to help fund my own investing, which I have been stuck in ever since.

Now being of the opinion that both the Sydney markets and the NSW economy for that matter are transitioning back towards an upward curve I feel it is getting very close to the time that I should make that jump back into a RE career.

Now heres the problem. My experience is limited to UK markets (with the exception of my personal investing in australian property) therefore to my understanding I need to swallow my pride a little and work my way up the ladder again in the process taking a hit to my usual income levels.

What I need advice on is:

Is sacrificing the $120K package I am currently on a stupid idea in a bid to move back into something I am actually interested in? (Taking into consideration that I am also an investor who is desperately trying to grow his portfolio during this perceived window of opportunity)

Does anyone have an honest idea of what successful RE agents particularly in Sydney's city and east typically earn?