All Topics / Help Needed! / refianance loan

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of pranaypranay
    @pranay

hi i am new with the investment so could someone help me plesase, i have recently bought the investment property $376330, bank offered me only $319500 to buy that IP so what i did i use the equity sitting on my home loan(PPOR) so i redraw $74000  for all the cost like deposit around $58000 and $18000 stamp duty and other lender and legal coast. so now some one suggest me that for the tax purpose do the refianance my PPOR and split the loan like $125000 PI and $74000 for I only so i am not sure do i have to split in $125000 and $74000 or i have to split $125000 and $58000 because  i paid $18000for lender and legal cost, or  give me other suggestion will help me with the tax 

thanks

pranay    

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Pranay

If you funded the deposit by way of a redraw you maybe too late to claim the interest as a Tax deduction.

I think i would be speaking with your mortgage broker rather quickly as you should have cancelled the redraw and taken out a new loan to cover the deposit etc.

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of KennyjaizKennyjaiz
    @kennyjaiz

Hi Pranay,

You may find the following link useful:
    Income tax: deductibility of interest on moneys drawn down under line of credit facilities and redraw facilities
    http://law.ato.gov.au/atolaw/view.htm?locid='TXR/TR20002/NAT/ATO'&PiT=99991231235958

Essentially, you have a mixed purpose redraw facility (private portion and investment portion). You can still claim the tax deduction for the interest paid on portion of loan you took out (the whole $74K) to acquire the investment in line with s8-1 as it is. This is stated in the above Tax Ruling: