All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Need help – property investment and mortgage insurance

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of vsdabhivsdabhi
    @vsdabhi

Hi,
    I have 2 properties and I want to buy a third property, which is an old property, I need to spend about $20K before I rent it out.
    If I have 20% equity for my third property, I will not have to pay for Mortgage Insurance but unfortunately I have not enough equity from my 2 houses so bank asked me for morgage insurance. It will cost me $16K.

My question is Can I get any tax benefit on mortgage insurance?. That insurance will apply on all three properties.
    Thanks
    Vinod

Profile photo of KRH83KRH83
    Participant
    @krh83

Hi Vinod,

i'm not an expert but when i saw my accountant about purchasing my second IP, he informed me that the LMI can attract a tax benefit but over a certain time period. i think he called it annualised?? i haven't got all the terms down yet!

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Vinod

Yes if the mortgage insurance is charged as a result of an application for an investment loan then it is considered as a loan cost and can be claimed over 5 years or the term of the loan whichever is shorter.

I would not be keeping all 3 loans with the same lender if LMI is required as the premiums rise as the loan amount increase.
    The threshold for LMI is < 300K / 300k > to 500K / and over $500K.

If you have a couple of properties I am guessing you are in the higher category.

Different lenders and different mortgage insurers charge different premiums so get your broker to shop around.

Might be an idea to take a 95% LVR on one loan and say 90% on the other all depends on the numbers.

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of hydramaxhydramax
    Participant
    @hydramax

Richard makes a great point about LMI thresholds and the need to spread your lenders.Well done!!

Hydra