All Topics / Help Needed! / Beginning the IP Journey

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of drudru
    @dru

Just signed up to the website and I must say there is a great amount of information floating around! It's been useful already.

Down to business. 6 months ago my Partner (20) and I (23) bought our first home in which we decided to wait 11 months until we move in – this is so we can take advantage of taking a nice chunk out of our mortgage with renters in and still get the FHBG. So this has got me thinking about investment properties, renting, buying, renovations and selling! Basically I'm asking, how did you do it? Where did you start and did you have much at the beginning? What is your formula for finding properties in the right areas?

Currently I am a Apprentice Plumber with a couple years left, but driving machinery on the weekends makes up for that loss in wages – so at the moment my Partner and I average just over 100k a year together. Is it too risky to be thinking about investment properties already?

Any help would be great! Just need to know if I am wasting my time thinking about investments already.

Cheers,
    Andrew.

By the way – I thought I would go and buy a few books anyway, these are on there way. (Got a bit of reading to do)
    * 52 properties in 52 weeks by Dolf De Roos
    * From 0 to 130 Properties in 3.5 Years by Steve McKnight
    * Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki

Profile photo of AB59AB59
    Participant
    @ab59

Hi Andrew,

Its always a good time to start thinking about investing in another property, provided that you have the income to support it.

The key things that you need to remember when investing in a new property and with your example your looking to renovate the property and sell it for a profit.

You will first of all need to have a deposit to purchase the new property. Some of our clients will pull the equity that they have out of their existing properties and use this as a deposit.