All Topics / Help Needed! / peed offwith agents

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of JonJon
    Participant
    @wealthyjvd

hey guys, i found myself arguing with yet another agent about this crap "make your best offer, and whose ever is highest wins" no chance to bounce back and forth. its absolute pathetic, escpecially as i am a student and cannot bid at auctions, due to finance..

the property is advertised as 245,000 PLUS   and from what ive heard, from a lawyer, it is also illegal to put that PLUS preceeding the advertised price, is this correct.

i made an offer today of 245,500, but now think i should up it to 263,700, as its for development purposes and the latter figure will return a % i want at minimum..

what can you guys tell me, i have till 10am tomorrow to submit a bid.

Profile photo of wisepearlwisepearl
    @wisepearl

just keep in mind that its not just the highest offer that wins, but its the one most suitable in terms of price AND conditions.

if you were selling and were offered either $245,000 only subject to finance, where your buyer had preapproved finance letter, settlement in 6 weeks and paid a 15% cash deposit, compared to a $255,000 offer requesting various clauses and a longer settlement and onyl 5% deposit, perhaps the vendor will choose to negotiate with just the first offer…

personally i've never really understood giving a price "from $245k" or "$245k plus" or even "$245 – 265k". the buyer in me says if they'll accept from $245 why would i offer $265? i think its just to give the agents an extra angle to try and push the offers up.

Profile photo of JonJon
    Participant
    @wealthyjvd

well buddy thanks for the info but im the guy with a 5% deposit ,14 days subject to finance and a 60 day settlement. So i cant create any angles except pushing the price 5-10k higher.

Profile photo of bjsaustbjsaust
    Participant
    @bjsaust