All Topics / Help Needed! / Newbie at Investment Property

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of HonamHonam
    @honam

Hi guys, first time poster hoping to get some help.

I am new to the whole investment property thing, still trying to get my head around this.

This is my current situation:

We have a PPOR worth around 300K, which we still owe the bank 240K.. so it means we have equity around 60K right?
    Currently we are doing principal & interest loan, standard variable rate.
    Since this is a unit, we are trying to move to a bigger and better place.
    Hoping to buy a property around 500K and use this as the new PPOR. We have some cash around 150K to put into deposit into this property.. while the rest we will borrow from bank of course. And we want to rent out our existing PPOR , so that will be our IP.

We are a bit confused on how to start this properly:

1. We have equity around 60K. How do we utilise this exactly to help us purchase our new PPOR (without selling the property).

2. The strategy is then to try to pay the debt back PPOR first as much as possible?  Because their interest is not deductible is that correct?

3. Is it better then to change our existing PPOR (future IP) loan from principal & interest to interest only, so they are fully deductible? 

4. Other recommendation?

Will appreciate any input to these, thank you so much.

Honam

Profile photo of AndrewBuysHousesAndrewBuysHouses
    Participant
    @andrewbuyshouses

Hey Honam

Firstly, welcome to the world of property investing!!

Ok, let's go through this step by step….

60K equity – right!  Ok, good start so far! :-)  However, it must be noted here that if in fact your current PPR would be valued at 300K is this market by a conservative bank, that you effectively have an 80% LVR (If I say anything that doesn't make sense, tell me!).