All Topics / General Property / Building inspection

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of obiwan22obiwan22
    Participant
    @obiwan22
    Hi,

I'm planning to purchase my first property and I am currently interested in a villa unit which is up for auction in the coming weeks.  I've read that when purchasing a property, a building & pest inspection should be conducted prior to the purchase.  In this instance, if I win the auction can I sign the contract of sale with conditions subject to building and pest inspections?

Also, can anyone recommend me a good property solicitor/conveyancer and accountant in Melbourne?  As I have no experience in purchasing a property before, any advise or guidance is much appreciated.  Thanks heaps!

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates

If you plan to purchase under auction conditions then you have been given sufficient time to undertake all of your investigations including pest/building inspections. A vendor will not accept an unacceptable risk post auction for the contract to fail – if you plan to have additional terms added to the contract you must get these negotiated and accepted prior to going to auction.

Profile photo of devo76devo76
    @devo76

You may be able to make your offer before the auction. This may give you time to do your inspections after offer acceptance but you run the risk of someone coming in higher. You are only safe after the contracts have been signed. Some people manage to negotiate a extended coolong off period so they sign straight away and do there inspections during the cooling off period. This is not done often with offers before auction.

Profile photo of JamesyJamesy
    @jamesy

I have used Mary Haines conveyancing twice in Melb over the last 12 months and cannot speak highly enough of her.Good luck with your investment.

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates