All Topics / Help Needed! / Properties that don’t sell in a day, are they still good?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of cosmiccosmic
    Participant
    @cosmic

I am looking at the bottom end of the market.  The ugly duckling houses.  I notice that all the good deals get snapped up before they even go online.  It leads me to think that anything left advertised for a week or more is not a good deal for some reason.  As I have no 'foot in the door' and only have weekends to arrange inspections I am left with only looking at the slower to sell houses. 

I notice that these houses are very run down looking.  I wonder if they don't sell so quickly as they require more 'elbow grease'/cash to get them up to scratch.  I am a painter so I don't mind a bit of hard work but really, what is the limit of how much work I should put into an ugly duckling to prepare for a good rental return?

I am really worried about buying a lemon.  I cannot afford a lemon.  This is our first investment property.  Our first house(the one we live in) was an ugly duckling which was on the market for months.  Eventually the price came down and we bought it.  It's still quite ugly but is now increased in value $150k in four years.  Obviously we hope for a similar outcome.  Maybe not as good though as it was a 'boom'.

Am I not really getting a good investment house if I am not on a real estate call list?

How low is too low to go on an offer?
    We put in an offer $30k below on a house and the owner was disgusted.  How often do you put in offers?  Once a week?

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Yes an offer or two a week is about right for serious investors.

As long as you make sure your contract is subject to building & pest inspection, finance etc you should be fine.