All Topics / Help Needed! / NEW INVESTOR NEEDS HELP

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of BillyboyBillyboy
    Participant
    @billyboy

I'm new to investing and would like to start with purchasing cashflow positive properties.  What should I be looking for in a property and how do I work out if it will be cashflow positive?  I've also started a new business and do not have good two year BAS statements (I've been told I need this) so I perhaps will have to look at creative ways of raising finance or non bank lenders.  I have the deposit just need information on how and where to go to raise the rest of the purchase funds.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Profile photo of paulandjopaulandjo
    @paulandjo

I'm just looking at positively geared properties myself. Don't know much about them but check out properties for sale in Karratha and Port Hedland that are leased. Good returns of over 10%.

Profile photo of KentenKenten
    @kenten

Positive cash flow property is basically using an on paper deduction to turn a loss into a profit. i.e. – claiming Capital Works Deductions ( cost of building the house) as well as claiming depreciation on fixures and fittings – you will need a quantity surveyor to do a depreciation schedule up for you. If you want to claim Capital Works Deductions the house must have been constructed after 1985. Be careful investing in towns solely dependant on mining in order to get positive cash flow.

Do yourself a favour grab a couple of books such as How to Create an Income For Life ( Margaret Lomas) + 0-130 Properties in 3.5 years ( Steve Mcknight) both great books about positive cash flow properties

Profile photo of BillyboyBillyboy
    Participant
    @billyboy

Hi Kenten and Joann

Thanks for the tips.

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

WIthout 2 years Tax returns you will certainly struggle obtain finance in the current climate.