All Topics / Help Needed! / New to investing – how should I start?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of JustplainnutsJustplainnuts
    Participant
    @justplainnuts

Hi Everyone,

I'm very new at this and I want to be active in investing and learn everything that's required in order to start. Really glad that I found this forum, unfortunately the more i read, the more confused I got. So, i thought i'd better start from the beginning.

I've been looking at properties on domain/realestate.com.au/papers… checking out areas I can afford and talking to ppl to get an idea of what the area/suburb is like eg: location, schools, transport, etc. I've read a few books and will read the ones listed in this forum. I've also bought my first home 2 years ago… my dad lent me the money and i bought the apartment outright… now paying dad back with no interest. So technically, on paper I have asset, I have bought property once and I have no debt (besides paying dad) and have $30k in savings.

Can anyone advise me (I know this is a very general and broad question) because I feel so overwhelmed… where to from here? I was planning to continue reading investment books, start attending seminars (any recommendations? will the 3 day conference be too advance for me due to my lack of experience?), find out how much I can borrow and apply for a loan, then start looking for a property (positive geared if possible, research infrastructure/ council, find a lawyer/solicitor)?

Does that sound like the right way to go?

Sorry if this is a really silly question. Let me know and I'll appreciate any advice.

Thanks!

Profile photo of PaulliePaullie
    @paullie

I've been looking around as well, but I think property is still over priced, its ridiculous.

I went to see a unit yesterday, it has serious moisture issues, and the asking price was IMO way too much.

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster