All Topics / Help Needed! / Should I borrow big or keep it small for my First home / Investent property

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of skuzskuz
    Participant
    @skuz

Hi all, I'm a newbie here and have been reading these forums heaps as of late. I think I'm much more educated about property investing now but it seems like for each answer I get I have another three questions.

I am 24 and interested in buying my first property which will initially be used as PPOR (for the minimum 6 months) and then become an IP so that I can take advantage of the FHOG. The bank said it can loan me up to $450K. I have $20,000 for a deposit which I have saved over 2 years. In that time I have also payed off $25,000 in credit card debt (from a very fun year long trip around europe) and am confident I am capable of saving between $25,000 and $30,000 each year. I have a gross income of about $75,000.  I'm living at home at the moment so don't really have any living expenses as everything is covered.

I am uncertain about whether I should buy a newer unit for around $320K that won't really need any work done to it, or spend a little bit more at about $400K and buy an older house with a sizeable block of land that can be sub-divided at a later date and used to develop townhouses. I have been looking in Melbournes's Inner West.

The rent that I would get for a unit would probably be slightly more ($350) due to the newer condition but there isn't the possibility to develop on the land and I suspect the capital growth will be less than a house with sizeable land. Older houses rent for about $300 in the area I have been looking at. Is it too risky to borrow close to my maximum and then receive lower rent while having higher repayments?