Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of JonJon
    Participant
    @wealthyjvd

a quick sum up…

Im 18 and have just about put enough money (15-20k) away between me and my girlfriend to buy an investment property in Melbourne (180-230k). As we still live with our parents, this is an excellent buy opportunity, no bills wotsoever, and if you dont start young, you'll be living 40k out of the city, and really, the majority doesn't want that in Melbourne! As im currently studying Banking and Finance, i love the stock market for short term boost, then plan to have property in the long term.

just wondering if if banks will 100% want to see saving records, or where the money has come from, like transactions and etc…

or just the deposit is enough…

also can someone clarify the idea of "a low deductible loan with a high non-deductible loan. Keeping things IO with an offset will save the same interest, but gives more flexibility to save tax"

was posted on another thread, would really like to know more..

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Firstly congratulations on wanting to start your investing career so early and I take my hat off to you.

Unfortunately the days of the 100% loan whilst not yet been and gone have requirements that are fairly stringent in respect of credit and asset requirements.

There are only a couple of lenders left offering such a product and all require evidence of a 20% equity stake in other property or cash assets.

So on the basis the maximum loan you can obtain would be 95% + LMI you would need to come up with 5% deposit plus your acquisition costs.

Given this will be close to the amount you have saved why not think about buying for all intense and purposes the property as a PPOR obtaining both the concessionary Stamp Duty and the $17K FHOG in Vic.