All Topics / Help Needed! / confused..what do i do next

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of roba72roba72
    Participant
    @roba72

Hi all

Im a confused home owner that doesnt know what step he should take next and would love to here some opinons from people here as to what they think I should do in, particular Steve McKnight if your listening.

I own a house in normanhurst valued at $600,000 with a mortagee of $210,000 left on it. I have just had the property DA approved to build a duplex on it. Id have to knock down the existing fibro house down.This duplex I have told by 3 different agents would get $600,000 each ($1,200,000 in total)in todays market. I am sure I can build them for $200,000 each being a builder myself. Each duplex could rent for $550 each and the house as is I can get $600 per week renting out each room as share accomodation for $150 per week.I put a ad in paper and had no trouble finding people interested.

Option1. Rent out the existing home and buy another property to fix up and live in with my family (wife and a newborn)

Option 2 build the duplexes sell one and live in the other meaning I will have no mortagee left freeing me up to buy another place

Option 3 build and sell them both find another place to buy.Giving me $200,000 gross profit.

I liked the idea of building them because I know alot of trades people dont have much work and I could probably build them a little cheaper than usual

but I also like the idea of buying another place as prices are down a bit and I might find a bargain in this market. I cant afford to build and buy another place at the same time.

Either way its a good move I think but Id love to hear what you guys think is the better move.

Im so addicted to this site now im on everyday reading forums

Thanks guys

Robert

Profile photo of crashycrashy
    Participant
    @crashy

you left out a few options:

4. sell DA approved site
    5. build duplex, live in one, rent out the other