All Topics / Help Needed! / can you nice people offer me some advice :)

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of imaginaryheroimaginaryhero
    @imaginaryhero

Hi guys

Im very new to property investing and need some advice. heres my situation.

Im currently working fulltime only netting about 600wk. I wish to get out of renting and buy my own unit. I have have no major assets, a clear credit record. My mother currently owns a unit worth around 320k, and is looking at selling but doesnt know when. She would like to help me but doesnt really know that much about investing either.

There is a chance when she sells her unit she will give me around 60k which i could use as a deposit for a unit, i am looking in sydney cbd. However, is there any options for her to use her current unit to invest in a unit for myself and i could pay off the mortgage. After she purchases the property could she transfer it to my name. Is the mortgage transferrable? Could i secure a lo doc homelone with say a 60k deposit on around 200k loan easily?

Just basically wondering the best way for me to end up owning a unit in sydney, based on the scenario above. Just need a kick in the right direction i guess.

Thankyou so much for your time :)

Profile photo of Boshy888Boshy888
    Participant
    @boshy888

There are a couple of options but the bottom line is that until your mum sells and releases the equity as can give you a gift of $60K cash, you will be, in effect, repaying a loan of about $196K (Stamp duty, conveyancing added less $14K first home loan grant).  Repayments on a $210K loan are around $322 per week plus rates of about $28 pw and strata fees of at least $20 per week.  This means that out of a $600 take home pay, you will have $230 to pay electricity, fuel, food, insurance etc.