All Topics / Help Needed! / Where do I start?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of MubzMubz
    @mubz

Hi there,

I've been reading these forums quite a lot and have learnt valuable lessons, thank you to all of you who have been posting here. It really gives folks like us a kick start into the property market.

I am only just getting into the property market. I am currently renting and Im unsure of where to start investing.
    I have enrolled on a property development course and im hoping to go into a joint venture to start developing. I understand this is where the biggest profits are.
    I am just concerned at whether i should buy my first house now and then save up to develop as i could use the equity from the house or whether i should keep renting and start developing using a joint venture.
    I have no experience, have a full time job that i cannot leave in a field that has nothing to do with property and i was wondering whether property development is time consuming and whether id be able to keep my full time job to fund it.

Im so confused, please help!

Mubz

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hi,

Thanks for your post and well done on embarking on your real estate investing career.

Property developing sounds easy enough, yet there are many pitfalls. Still, the name of the game is to try and get as much information on the key unknowns.

For example, you know what your purchase price will be, you can get a fixed price contract, but what sinks people is the unknown end sales price and a lack of cash to cover costs when things don't go to plan.

For this reason, I recommend that you continue to rent while you do your first development so you can have access to as much working capital as possible.