All Topics / Help Needed! / Any advice on what to do?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Pilbara BoyPilbara Boy
    @pilbara-boy

Hi there I have been trolling around this site for quite a while and thought it was time to become a member, anyway I would like some advice on what I should do in my current situation. Let me give you a rundown of my situation, I'm engaged to my partner (we are both 26) and we have two young boys 2 and 2months my partner is a stay at home mum and won't be returning back to work for at least another 4 years, we recently moved to the Pilbara where I work as a electrican, I rent my house from my employer for $116 p/m which includes power and water. We are looking to get ahead in life where in the past we lived quite a false luxury life. We are now saving more money than we have before, I net about $5800 p/m and my expenses are $500p/m for our car loan which we have approx $20g owing and our overall living expenses of $ 3000p/m which leaves around $2300 in savings per month and our overall savings are around $20g. Our ultimate goal is to buy a IP while we stay here for around 5 years and then move into it but Im not sure this is the right way to do things, should I try to buy a IP now or should I pay off the car loan and be totaly free of debt before purchasing or should I invest in something else, basically I'm not looking to get rich but to just finally buy our own house and have it payed off in 10 years if achievable. I would greatly appreciate and value your help.

Profile photo of PhilbPhilb
    @philb