All Topics / Finance / Using security?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of lordoftheundeadlordoftheundead
    @lordoftheundead

Hi guys,

i'm looking for some finance options for an investment property.

my situation – im a temp australian resident (lived here for 2.5 years but dont yet have permanent residence)
    im employed full time 70k + a year and a tax resident.

im currently looking for finance on a house and land package costing 300 – 350k

being a temp resident im subject to firb approval and a max LVR of 80% from most lenders?

options.

1) finding a lender that will lend me more than 80% lvr so i dont have to put down a large deposit.
    if this is an option does anybody know a lender that will do this?

2) pay 20% deposit – i can scrap to this money from some shares i have but would like to keep them there and from LOC on my partners property but she would not be able to claim a deduction on if i used it for an ivestment. ideally like to use the LOC to purchase another property in her name so she can get the deductions.

Anyone know a way around this situation so i can claim a deduction ect?

3) unknown ground – my partner has 3 properties, 2 of which i know have an lvr of 80% or slightly less.

is there anyway i can use her remaining equity as security for my purchase?

if so, what implications does that have for her?

and yes i wil be refinancing once construction is complete.

4) open to ideas

regards

Pete

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Pete

> 80% LVR will normally require LMI and neither of the big mortgage insurers will provide cover to a Non resident.

There is nothing to stop your partner to lend you the money from her LOC at the same rate as she is being charged and then both of you can claim the appropriate deduction. You can then refinance if and when you have a permanent Visa and repay the loan.