Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of qbnjuggernautqbnjuggernaut
    @qbnjuggernaut

Hi There

I am to visit the Residential Tenancy Tribunal soon – has any body had dealings with them?  I am a responsible landlord and have a healthy respect for all my tenants.  In a nutshell, Tenant signs Fixed Term Agreement, and decides to move out some 15 days earlier.  No breach of lease by myself, and i am left 15 days short of rent, ie $690.

I have to go to this tribunal, and try to recoup this rent.  I have held notified NSW Rental Bond to withhold bond monies until resolved.

Can somebody give me some information and hints on this.

Kind Regards

qbnjuggernaut

Profile photo of rachelthelegendrachelthelegend
    @rachelthelegend

Hi There

I'm a property manager in Victoria, and i believe the tribunals run reasonably the same…

If a tenant has signed fixed term agreement, this must have a clause in it stating that they are responsible for break lease fees if they do so. This can include a letting fee, rent until a new tenant is found and advertising costs.

HOWEVER – tribunals are very swayed in the tenant's opinion (despite the cynical view that we scratch their backs, they scratch ours…) and so any clauses added by a landlord/agent can be thrown out by the tribunal. It depends entirely on the member that hears the case. If the tenant doesn't turn up this is also a bonus. Make sure you have sent all notices, including notice of the hearing by registered post.

Good luck!

Profile photo of MaxSmartMaxSmart
    @maxsmart

Hello'

My experience with VCAT, in Victoria of course, was not so positive. 

The fact  that one letter which did not arrive in the post, I put my hand on the good book and stated this, did nothing to stop VCAT letting the tenants getting away with my $4000 in unpaid rent and damages.