All Topics / Help Needed! / Using equity to buy property

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 21 total)
  • Profile photo of KC1KC1
    @kc1

Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone can give advice to a property investment dummy on using equity.

I have around $100,000 in equity on my apartment (this is based on the increase in properties value plus my initial deposit).

How can I best use this? My aim is to be able to have a house in the inner city (Melbourne) one day & I figure by having two apartments that would one day enable me to sell both and buy my house!

Do the banks count the equity as available money? Would they give a second loan to buy a small property?

I don't have that much available cash as I am putting a fair bit into paying off property one.

I'm a real beginner so would love to hear what the first steps might be.

Thank you,

Kate

Profile photo of bazalbrushbazalbrush
    Participant
    @bazalbrush

Hi Kate,

Take a look at this thread.

https://www.propertyinvesting.com/forums/property-investing/help-needed/4324676

I think it is good advice generally considering the property market at the moment. There will be some good times coming to use your equity to purchase another property if that's what you want to do, but in my view ……………..not just yet.

Not everyone will agree with me of course, but I'm holding off with the purchases at the moment myself.

Cheers

Owen Fox

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Kate

Rather than paying off the loan you should be paying interest only and be utilising a 100% offset account.

Whilst accessing equity will help you in your goal to purchase another property the underlying factory is serviceability.

Make sure that you structure the loan correctly otherwise you may have an issue or 2 when it comes to lodging your Tax return and trying to apportion the deductible interest.

You mortgage broker should be able to assist in this respect if he or she is investment orientated.