All Topics / Help Needed! / Different finance strategy advice

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of Mick FMick F
    @mick-f

Hey guys,

I am new to both this forum and purchasing property but hopefully that is all about to change. Property values are pretty high at the moment. It's proving to be hard to find a 4×2 home in WA for anything under 300,000 so I have come up with an idea for finance to ease the burden for me and my partner, just wanted to put it forward to see what issues/suggestions people might have on the idea (hopefully I can put whats in my head into words clearly):

We are currently looking at a budget of around $320,000 shared between myself and my partner. This will secure us a reasonable home in what I think is an area with alot of potential. For this ammount loan the repayments would be around $630 per week. With a joint weekly income of $1300, we can fit this ammount into our budget but do not have much breathing space for future rate rises etc

My parents (we are only 21) currently have $50,000 left to pay on their mortgage on a house that is now worth $450,000. They currently pay $500 per week in attempt to pay the loan off asap.

I have been thinking that if I use the equity of my parents house, or use my parents as a security guarentee, we would be able to take out a loan of $390,000 (the cost of the house + ammount left on parents loan). This has been confirmed with the bank and would make repayments roughly $700 per week. I would use the extra $50,000 to pay off my parents mortage. That way instead of my parents paying $500 to the bank, they would pay the $500 towards me/my loan until they have payed off the money they owe + interest. Leaving only $200 for me to put toward the loan per week.