All Topics / Help Needed! / Interest only loans and a couple of other questions…

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of andrea01andrea01
    Participant
    @andrea01

Hi Everyone,

My husband and i have no experience in buying ip's but we are trying to do all the necessary research.

Many people that i have spoken with who own a few ip's have told me that they did not ever have a deposit for any of them but instead borrowed 100% with an interest only loan and used the equity they had in their own home, is this how most people get started?

My other 2 question's are where do you go to research areas besides the realestate websites and is it really not such a good idea to purchase a flat due to the fact that there is no land value? Surely they increase in price over time don't they?
    Sorry if these questions sound ridiculous.

Andrea

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Andrea

Yes it is normal practise to borrow 100% of the purchase price plus sufficient to cover the acquisition costs of the property. 

Most people merely throw in the security of their own home and their Bank cross collateralises the 2 securities.

This is where they go wrong and is not until the 2nd 3rd or 4th property realise they have structured the loan incorrectly and it ends up costing them potentially 000's in costs to untie the properties.

Make sure your Mortgage Broker is experienced is investment structures as most wouldn't a clue.

Remember done properly you will still borrow 100% + but have the freedom that each property has its own stand alone loan and no 1 property is supporting the other.

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates