All Topics / Help Needed! / Should I stay or should I go now?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of allmineallmine
    Participant
    @allmine

Yes I know it is from a song. I'm new to this web site, and am finding much info I need.
    However? I am looking for an oppinion or 2.

My situation is simply this…
    We have 5000 m block, bush setting with coastal and valley views, sunrise and sunsets are great.
    It is a street with a mix of million $ plus homes, some are very grand, then there are a few like mine, 2 bedroom timber cottage. The street is a dead end.
    Mine has a bit of wear and tear, but has the great views, not all have this, certainly the million $ ones don't.
    I have a shed bigger then the house, plus another shed. These are seperated from the house via seperate driveway.
    The block is 1/2 native bush, with resident wallabies, many birds etc, no rear neighbour but crown land.
    We paid 180,000 for this several years ago. Done many improvements, mainly the sheds etc.

So, do I knock this over and build the 5 bedrrom place with the trimmings using ecofriendly products etc, turning it into the expected 1,200,000 property we have been reliably told. Or sell up as is where is for the expected 480,000 and nick off chasing our dream we have for another part of the country.

I should point out, I am handy with a set of tools, hense the shed, so it is estimated that I can save 150,000 on building our new house with me getting involved working with a builder. I have an OS job which sees me home for long periods to allow this.
    The new home design we have in mind will also allow us to move in long before 100% completion, meaning one levels interior need not be completed other then structural components.
    The new home will be architect designed and quite unique by nature due to shape of the land. This will be a selling point I am told also.