All Topics / Help Needed! / Holding Deposit

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of Tony BTony B
    @tony-b

Hi
    Im new to this site & to property buying. I finally found a block of land I like and then decide to go in to the agent to get the price. I was told it is sold, subject to finance. A holding deposit has been take $500. No contract signed I asked why and was told section 32 & contract is not available yet. As Im new to buying can some one please explain the following:

Is it wise to buy a property with out seeing the section 32 or reading the contract?
    Can I still make an offer on this property?
    Is the holding deposit a gareentee to the other buyer that they will get the property?
    Can the agent sell it to me if I offer a bit more money?
    Does the agent have to take my offer to the vendor ( as the property is not on the market as a holding deposit has been take ??????)
    I can offer a 20% deposit and Im not subject to finance can I use this to my addvantage?
    Is the property realy sold, I beleive it is not sold untill both parties sign the contract?
    Is it ethical for me to offer something a bit better to the vendor in order to cut the other buyer out. Also is it legal for the agent to play them off against me to win the property?

I feel a bit dissapointed that it is sold and dont want to rush in with the fear of missing out and end up paying too much. But as we all know land is a bit hard to find and Im sick of looking and seeing the price go up evey re sale that I find.

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards
    Tony B.

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hi,

I think legal advice is your best bet for the most accurate answers. I recommend you try:

Lewis O'Brien & Associates
    Suite 4
    310 Whitehorse Road
    BALWYN   VIC   3103
    P:  03 9888 6388

However, I can offer my help but remember I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice.

Quote: