All Topics / Help Needed! / the 11 second solution

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Profile photo of damo001damo001
    @damo001

I'm trying to get the 11 second solution to work but it just seems to make the rent way out reach for almost every property i have looked at.  I'm new at the property investing game. some help would be nice

Profile photo of Dplayer33Dplayer33
    Participant
    @dplayer33

That is because finding a CF positive property is difficult.

Generally the rental return on a property is about 4-5%.

The 11 second rule is looking for a return of about 8%

Profile photo of PropertyAllSortsPropertyAllSorts
    @propertyallsorts

You may need to think about buying cheaper

Profile photo of g_man08g_man08
    @g_man08

I too am new at the investment game. I have found a property which would make a positive cashflow but the problem is it is in a very rural area that would require more than a day to drive there… Is it too risky to buy a property that I haven't even seen (apart from pictures) – I really can't believe I am thinking of it – but the numbers look really good.

The property is less than $100k  (and would return more than 200/week)  – does anyone have any advice whether I should get an interest only loan that is fully tax deductible or should I pay the principle off as well?

Thanks for you comments…

Profile photo of L.A AussieL.A Aussie
    @l.a-aussie

You wont find the 11 sec rule around on anything decent these days. The sort of areas where you'll see it are dogs.

The only way you will achieve pos cashflow is to either create it through renovations, or subdivisions and building – adding value.

The other way is to look for POSITIVE CASHFLOW AFTER TAX properties.

This occurs when the cashflow is initially negative, but after you apply the tax deductions and depreciation to your earned income, your tax return increases the cashflow back to the positive. Because it is after tax; there is no tax to pay on the profit.