All Topics / Help Needed! / help needed understanding the hidden costs

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of chappellchappell
    Participant
    @chappell

Hi
    im fairly new to all this and im in the middle of reading steves book 0 -130 properties and i need a little help under standing how he calculates the cash on cash return?

i get that cash flow recieved is the annual rent but im not sure what the net cash flow paid is?

i take it it's the loan repayments and agent fees but what other costs are involved?

also how can i calculate the nesessary cash needed part out as i've never taken a house loan before?

if someone could take the time to help me understand i'd greatly appreciate it as i'm not having much luck understanding this theory as i cant seem to find any positive properties in darwin using the 11 second rule. even though the adds say there an investors delight.

i dont mind if someone contacts me via msn
    [email protected]

cheers

Profile photo of trakkatrakka
    @trakka

Council rates, landlord's insurance, repairs, accounting (tax returns, plus fees for maintaining Trust and corporate trustee if applicable), body corporate (if applicable), possibly excess water charges, etc. I budget on all costs apart from finance adding up to 2.5% of total value of property, or more (3-4%) if the property is valued under $300K. ie no less than about $7K per year on any property.

Profile photo of chappellchappell
    Participant
    @chappell

so it's safe to say that if i calculate the 4% of the purchase price this would be my annual cash flow expenses???????

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hi,

The cash-on-cash return formula is as follows:

(cash received – cash paid) / cash down

where:

cash received: rental and other income
    cash paid: all cash costs, including capital loan repayments and excluding depreciation