All Topics / Help Needed! / first timer

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of matestmatest
    @matest

Hi my name is matt, i am new to the property market and would like to have my plan reveiwed or criticised.

I have approximately $12000 to invest, i will be making the trip to brisbane to look at inner city studio apartments in the price range of $100000 to $160000, theses are rented out around $170 to $250 so it may be possible that some of these could be cashflow positive or around cash flow neutral. I was going to buy a house to live in in mackay but it is my beleif that the market is going to soften in mackay so now might not be the time. My plan was to get a hold on a few or as many of these studio apartments as the bank allows based on a low deposit for each. the unfortunate thing is i looked at these over the internet 12 months ago and most have risen in value by $10000 to $20000 and more for some, (i was more interested in partying and what i was going to do on the weekend back then) however i think brisbane still has a bit of boom left in it and i have allready outlined my entry strategy, my exit strategy is to sell one or two (based on how many the bank allows me to obtain) in 6 to 12 months time and use capital gains to feed into the others so they become cash flow positive and any remainder profit to be used as a deposit for my own home to live in when the market becomes cheaper in the mackay area. Is this idea worth the risk or worth trying? Is my money better elsewher or maybe should i just keep saving for a while?
    If i do this would i still be able to claim first home owners grant when i choose to buy a house to live in?

to me it seems a good idea because as these prices are around cash flow neatral i should be able to demonstrate to the bank that it is minimal risk to them and if they do not perform i can simply sell and not lose.