All Topics / Value Adding / Priorities of renovations

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of twowheels_001twowheels_001
    @twowheels_001

Hi all,

i've recently purchased a 3 br Vic home property for $560k. It's a fairly run down property, but a renovated property in the area are selling between $730-$900plus. I bought it for investment with the intention of renovating it on my own for the next 6 month while satisfying my first home buyers grant duty.

However, I am hitting a panic button as i am new in this property investment. Feels like everything needed work in this house. My goal is to renovate it good enough for rental for the next 3-5 years. The house currently holds a very small living room with no area for dining table, my options are:

1. Keep the 3 bedroom and find someone that are willing to rent with small living room

2. Knockdown the 3rd bedroom in order to have a bigger living & dining room

This house may require restumping, rewiring (only 3 plugs in the whole house), changing all the bathroom and kitchen units. Gosh, what have i got myself into?? I guess my question is, what should my priorities be?

ANY advise is appreciated.

Profile photo of L.A AussieL.A Aussie
    @l.a-aussie

Keep the 3 bedrooms; most people want more bedrooms, not less.

Don't rent out the 3rd room while you are renovating unless you want to upset your tenant and they will move out.

First clue; painting and carpet/floorboards are last things to be done on the inside.

Do the landscaping absolutely last; especially if there are tradies stomping around doing their stuff. 

Maybe do the restumping first as this may cause small cracks in the walls which will need filling/sanding when the painting starts, and you want level floors for the new bathrooms and kitchen etc.

Then do the bathroom as you need the kitchen for the coffee and the beerfridge while you work.