All Topics / Help Needed! / First step advice

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of donkey33donkey33
    @donkey33

Hi everyone,

Just found this forum and am very pleased I did. I'd been looking for somewhere to learn and got lucky in google today and here I am.

Anyway, I'm new to the world of investing in property. Well, I've been reading a lot of books on it but have yet to make a move. I think they call it procrastinating, haha. I guess I don't know how to take that first step or am a little scared of taking that first step and hoping that some astute investors could maybe give me a little advice/guidance.

I'm 24 and have been working full time for about 18 months now. Prior to that I was just a Uni student. I've saved up a deposit that I hope is sizeable enough to get me a loan and just recently moved back in with my parents after living out of home for 4 years so I'm ready to take the leap but just can't take it. Also, live in Melbourne.

I guess my biggest worry is that I'll make a mistake and 5 years of saving a deposit could be worth nothing if I lose that (been saving it whilst in Uni and whilst working). I guess the worst case scenario is that I do just that but I want to go full steam into property investment.

My goals are to retire as early as possible. I guess most people are like me in that they don't like work but not many look at other areas to effectively stop working. I look at my sisters and notice that. I don't want to do that. I have an office job in the city and am sick of the corporate lifestyle after only 18 months. I want to get out of it and make property my full time job because I think I'd enjoy that a lot more. My Dad is a builder so I've grown up around houses and helping him build them on the weekends, etc.