All Topics / Overseas Deals / Commercial or Residential Property Investment?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of Michael4Michael4
    @michael4

Hi to all,

I have a question when it comes to comparison between purchasing commercial vs residnetial property such as houses, units, townhouses etc.

Which of the two would be the best to invest in when you look at Capital Appreciation, Yield, General expenses and potential difficulties being borrowing from the bank, getting tenants etc.

Please discuss as i'm interested in one commercial property which is selling for $585,000 has a tenant in place which signed 2 year lease and will extend the lease for another 3 years and who leases the space for $4,000 a month.

Space is around 80m2 and is in good location in alexandria in sydney. The commercial building is only 3 years old.

thanks

michael

Profile photo of elkamelkam
    @elkam

Hello Michael

I am no expert in this area but since no one has answered you I will tell you the little I know.

I have 1 commercial property and the return is better than residential. It also has the advantage that normally (check the lease) the tenant pays all outgoings (rates,water,insurance,maybe some repairs, land tax at single holding rate naturally) and may even be required to paint your property every so many years. Again, all agreed on via the lease. I am talking about industrial commercial property which is what mine is, but I believe that the rules are different for offices or retail commercial property. Any commercial REA will be able to give you this information.

The thing to remember about the CG on a commercial property is that it's sometimes positive and sometimes negative. The value of a CIP is based on it's return and in bad economic conditions, when rents usually drop, so does the value of the property. However this rectifies itself when the economy improves.