All Topics / Help Needed! / help with buying a second property!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of shel25shel25
    @shel25

Hey, Just wondering if anyone could help me. Firstly I'm new to this, so excuse any weirdness..

I am a female in mid 20's on $55k wage, w/ boyfriend earning about $65k. Currently have a house in Adelaide in which we are living, with a mortgage on it of $200k, and approx valuation of $330k. We are looking to buy a house in Brisbane for about $350k maximum but not too far from the city, and were planning on renting this place in Adel out for approx $320/wk rent, thus an extra $40/wk needed to cover this mortgage. ? Therefore we would have about a $550k mortage (jeepers!!) ~ Would a bank lend us that much? is it viable? any other ideas?

Would appreciate anyone's thoughts on this, am not sure whether should keep this house as an investment in the long term, or whether just sell it now and get a better house in QLD? Any thoughts?
    Aim: To be a property tycoon, but still have a decent lifestyle  :)

Can somebody help???

Thanks a lot ! :) Shel

Profile photo of PhorshaPhorsha
    Participant
    @phorsha

The banks should lend you that easily, you both have full-time work and a decent 'bit' of equity…a 200k loan is like $650 per fortnight so that’s the first home paid for so then you just really need to concentrate on servicing the secondary loan of $350,000 which with your combined income is very do-able. (this is just my opinion, some may disagree)

Profile photo of shel25shel25
    @shel25

Thanks for that, but is it a lot more expensive to have a 2nd house rented out that is not covering the mortgage by a bit, in addition to the council rates, water i assume, emergency services levy, building insurance etc do you know??> or do you think we would be better off by just selling this place and buying a bigger better one interstate? But that doesn't help my goal of owning stacks of property!! hmm.. :)