All Topics / Help Needed! / retaining negatively geared property

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of pelepele
    @pele

Hi all. I have been stewing over this for a few months.I have a 1br apartment with sea views which is costing me far more than it is returning. The obvious solution is to sell and redirect purchase to a higher yielding property/ies. As this property should have a strong capital growth, I am reluctant to sell. Can anyone think of a creative solution to this problem. I have considered refinancing with an equity loan of 20%,giving 20% of growth away.I would appreciate people's thoughts on the situation.
    Regards,
    pele

Profile photo of elkamelkam
    @elkam

Hello pele

Although this site is basically for people interested in CF+ IP's I have always bought negatively geared property with good capital growth potential and have not been disappointed to date. The problem is being able to support the expense until rents and growing equity catches up.

The solution to speed up this process is to see if doing an inexpensive renovation will increase your rent and reduce the gap.

Also make sure you are claming everything that you are entitled to including depreciation which will give you some tax deductions to help with the finances.

If you don't have any personal debt (non deductible debt) but have some cash then make sure it's sitting in an offset account linked to your loan as this will reduce your interest bill. Also putting all your earnings into this account will have the same effect.

From reading posts on this forum I believe that an equity loan means that you give away 40% of your capital growth not 20%.  You get 20% interest free from the lender but they want 40% of the capital growth in return.

Not something I would do if you think that your IP will experiance good capital growth.

Cheers
    Elka 

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter