All Topics / Help Needed! / Moving home – Is it possible to convert the existing home to an investment

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of PrimerPrimer
    @primer

We are thinking of moving home. We must buy a propery in a diffenent area. The best would be to keep our home now as investment. However the current home is almost debt free, we have made a lot of additional payments.
    The question is if it is legally possible to borrow the money againt the existing home and put into the new home so the existing home can be vialbe as an investment? or do we have to sell the existing?

Thanks

Profile photo of pasandbecpasandbec
    @pasandbec

Hi there,

I'm by no means an expert in this area, but I have asked a similiar question myself in the past. As far as I know, you CAN borrow money againt your home/PPOR (principal place of residence) for the new property and turn it into an IP (investment property) BUT you won't be able to claim any of the interest on the IP (it would be breaking tax laws if you did) there fore it doesn't make it a viable investment.

Hope that helps.

@pasandbec

A better option might be to sell current PPOR, put profits towards new PPOR (have any excess sitting in an offset account, not in redraw, so you don't encounter the same problem again in the future should that place turn into an IP) and then buy a new IP.

Profile photo of PrimerPrimer
    @primer

Got it, thanks.
    This means I have to sell my current home and put the proceed toward the new PPOR.

@pasandbec

and a new IP, should you wish to have one.

but put the profits of your sale into a linked OFFSET account (linked to your PPOR loan, to reduce interest), not directly onto the loan (in redraw), otherwise if you decide to turn that place into an IP down the track, you'll be faced with the same problem….

Profile photo of L.A AussieL.A Aussie
    @l.a-aussie

Hi Primer,