All Topics / Help Needed! / Advice on 1st IP… let me have it!

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of AureliusAurelius
    Participant
    @aurelius

Hi all,

I know that many people have asked for similar feedback but i would be interested to hear other's opinion on my current situation. I have been checking into this forum regularly for the past 12 months whilst saving, and enjoy reading most of the posts. However, I'm getting close buying my first IP and thought I would run it past you all…

Thanks for taking the time to respond (if you do).

Here's my situation:
    Earn $54,000 gross p.a.
    Pay Rent $180 per week
    Currently save $200 per week
    have $15,000 deposit
    no debts/credit cards

Here's my ideas:
    • Want to buy IP not PPOR, still want to rent in East Brisbane (where I want to live close to city).
    • Purchase price $200,000 max.
    • Have been approved for 280,000 loan but do not want to over extend myself
    • Like to get something less than 20 years old (depreciation)
    • Would buy anywhere in Aust. wherever I see potential
    • Only purchase residential unit/house (not land/commercial)
    • Look for cash flow+ opportunities or at least try to cover most expenses
    • Use my savings to cover any shortfall and add to mortgage as extra repayments
    • Build enough equity in the next couple years through CG and extra payments to purchase second IP and so on…

To me that sounds smarter than living way out in the burbs in my first PPOR, all my money going into an asset which gives me no return, isn't where I want to live and is not tax deductible.

Thanks again, appreciate any feedback.

A

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

If you owned a PPOR rather than renting you also would incur Maintenance costs that your current renting situation doesn't incur.