All Topics / Help Needed! / New to site -wanting advice and sharing information on my IP

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of project Uproject U
    @project-u

Hello all, I am a newbie to the site and would like to update you on my IP experience and ask for some sound advice please from your more experienced IP gurus!

A little background.

We purchased a block of 4 units (all on one title) in Albury NSW back in July last year and the rent on these was way under market. We decided (after painstaking research) that with some renos these could be made CF+. We set about securing a builder who told us a whole heap of stories – about his team and the timeframes he thought for these to happen. We fit the renos within our budget and he was able to do most of what we asked in that budget – or so he said! That is a story in itself and one I will share at a later date.

All sounded fantastic – his team would come in and the properties would be ready for rent after 5 weeks. We purchased all the items ourselves (best quality too, cheaply) – he just needed to supply the labour. Well, that was back in October last year and we are still doing the third unit ourselves now, some 8 months later. Getting the builder to do the work has been a nightmare but hey – we are perservering and although he has cost us rent for such a long time (thank god we both work and could cover this) we are nearing the end of renos (or at least as much as we are going to do).