All Topics / Help Needed! / Did i get a good deal?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of oneiriceroneiricer
    @oneiricer

Hi guys,

im just starting out so go easy on me. I know nothing about real estate (except reading books) and went out and spoke with a RAMS mortgage broker who gave me the following finance:

7.27% interest variable rate.
    300 annual fee
    I/O

Since i've only been to a couple of mortgage brokers, i don't really know whats good and whats not. I went to HSBC before and they weren't too helpful, looks like their interest rate is a bit higher as well.

Also, just wondering, is an interest only loan good? Doesnt this mean that i don't build up equity in my investment property?
    Now, this question tends to bring up the question ' what are you going for, whats your plan.' i guess im a bit naive, but a CF+ and capital gains is what im looking for in an investment, not negative gearing, so will an i/o loan help? or will paying a interest and principal loan help more in that regards?

If anyone else knows of a good mortgage broker that is understanding to a couple wanting to start out investing… please p.m. or reply here :)

p.s. i thought i'd get pre-approval before i start looking at houses.

Profile photo of rudolphrudolph
    @rudolph

Hi
    7.27% is not the real rate when you take into account the $300 annual fee (this is a bit rich I would querie this as mortgage companies are looking for new business).

IO is the way to go as  you have more chance of being cash flow positive. It also frees up extra money to put towards your next ip or improvements to this one.

IO dont decrease the loan but you still get increased equity through capital growth (property doubles in value every 8 years approx)Your $300k property with $200 loan $100 equity becomes $600K PROPERTY STILL WITH $200K LOAN and $400k equity.

Pre approval is always a good start so you know your price range

Have fun on the hunt enjoy the experience