All Topics / General Property / Investing in Perth???

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of leddledd
    @ledd

Hi All,

I'm new to property investment so any comments would be appreciated.

I have two lines of thought:

One is to get into the property market asap.

The other is that there couldn't be a worse time to buy a property in Perth as, according to a number of reports, it's all over in terms of capital growth for the short and the medium term.

Therefore, my conclusion is: If I'm going to buy in the Perth region I think I'm better off waiting quite some time or buying interstate (which I'm reluctant to do). I just read a book by Michael Yardney. He advocates buying reasonably local and that makes sense to me.

Would love to hear people's thoughts on buying in the Perth region in relation to the current property market!

Cheers,

Mark

Profile photo of GlascoGlasco
    @glasco

Hi Mark,

You will find allot of people more knowledgeable and experienced than me on here, but thought i would post my ideas all the same. I am from Perth and up until recently had no properties to my name. I would have loved to have bought my PPOR in Perth, however with the boom, I was priced out of the market. After considerable thought I decided to purchase in SEQ in fear that if other states follow Perth's lead I may miss the property boat all together for the foreseeable future. This obviously involved allot of reading and research and if you go this way I would recommend making a trip to your chosen region to check out the suburbs. I did this at Easter and it really helped.

If you are looking for a property investment, I believe that there allot of areas that will outperform Perth in the short to medium term and if you use a property manager the practicalities of the property being so far away should be some what reduced (also from my understanding property manager are allot cheaper over east – we get robbed here).