All Topics / Help Needed! / Oblivious

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of lausylooloolausylooloo
    @lausylooloo

Hi All…

Ok, I am new to this site and I am totally new to the investment property part of life…..

I am very interested in buying an apartment to get me started as my one goal in life is to have at least 2 investment properties..
    I am 22 & currently on $51k a year and my car loan will be paid off within the next 6 months so I will be debt free. I live at home and I am planning to have the deposit for this by the start of next year.
    I am looking into buying an apartment in the city area (Melbourne) between 120k – 150k and just want to start out small and rent it out.
    I would preferrably be looking into buying an apartment that already has a tenant in place as I have no plans to live in it at this stage and this would purely be for investment purposes…

I have no idea how it all works and just wanting to get a few opinions I guess?! [blush2]

I am aware that I would not get the First Home Owners Grant as I wouldnt be living in it, but when I want to buy a house with my partner to live in, would I still get the First Home Owners grant then?

I have heard a few people mention Capital Gain…..is this when the tenant is paying the rent, but you pay the difference that is left to make up the repayment and you can claim this back on tax? how does this all work..

I understand I still have alot of reading up on this to do and alot of people to speak to….just wanting to get some opinions on whether this is a good way to start off? Or should I be looking into buying a place with my partner and then trying to buy investments from there?

Can anyone also suggest some good ways or good books to find out more information to help me out?

Thanks guys..

Lausy [biggrin]

Profile photo of LandLand
    @land

Lausy,