All Topics / Help Needed! / Total costs associated with an investment property

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of GlascoGlasco
    @glasco

Hi Guys,

As a complete novice trying to work out a budget for my first investment property – I was hoping some of the more experience punters might be able to provide some figures for all the ongoing costs that I will be up for. I am particularly interested in QLD, however advice from any state would help.

The property will be at the lower end of the market, say $250,000 – $300,000 and I am keen to find out about the charges for a property manager, relevant insurances (house, landlords etc), council rates, water charges and what ever else that I may be missing. I know the figures or %’s will be rough but any guidance would help at this stage.

Cheers

Profile photo of propertypowerpropertypower
    @propertypower

Hi Glasco,
    Welcome to the forum.
    The costs can be split into two – closing costs and ongoing costs.
    Closing cost includes things like stamp duty, loan establishment charges, solicitor/conveyancing charges, etc. Typically these costs are around 5-6% of the purchase price.
    Ongoing costs includes things like council rates, water rates, insurance, body corporate, property manager’s fees, etc. These costs vary depending on the type of property you buy and it is very hard to give an approximate figure for these costs. For a free standing $300k property, you might be looking at around $1000 rates, ~$500 water rates, ~$500 insurance, ~7-8% property management fees, etc.
    Hope this helps.

cheers,
    Sanjiv Gupta

“There is no passion to be found playing small – in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.” – Nelson Mandela

Profile photo of L.A AussieL.A Aussie
    @l.a-aussie

Allow about 20% of the rent to be eaten in costs.

This is usually an over-estimation – no nasty surprises.

Cheers,
    Marc.
    [email protected]