All Topics / Help Needed! / my next step

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of kerumaikerumai
    @kerumai

hi everyone~
    this is my first post and i have been reading the forums and finding them very interesting and helpful~thanks everyone~

I have a few questions. I am quite new to property investing…planning to buy my first one soon this year.

however, i am unsure what would the best step for me at the moment.
    i have been actively researching properties and have a list of potential ones. i have sorted out my team- my solicitor, accountant, and also a quantity surveyor (if needed). I also have set aside some deposit money as well.

there are a few different opinions as to setting up a trust to purchase the property or not. I am planning to build a property portfolio in the long term, but some people have suggested to start with the first property in my own name first.
    is that a good idea?

also, should I research properties and narrow down to 2 or 3 properties first, or should i approach the bank about mortgage first?

please advise what my next step should be.

thanks
    M[biggrin]

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi kerumai

A couple of quick poitns to consider:

1) Dont spend unnecessary money on a Trust Structure until you have decided what path of investing you are going to follow. Whether it be purchasing Positive geared properties where a Disc Trust maybe appropriate or negatively geared prpoerties with capital growth whereby an HDT may be the way to go.

2) You Bank will probably have little or no idea about structuring your loan for investing. They will suggest cross collaratlsing the loans by offering to lend you 110% of the new IP purchase price and taking your PPOR or similar as security for both.

Dont tread this path.

Cheers

Richard Taylor
    Residential & Commercial Finance Broker.
    Licensed Financial Planner. Ph: 07 3720 1888
    [email protected]