All Topics / Help Needed! / New to Investing

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of cooperettecooperette
    Participant
    @cooperette

Hi Guys! I am new to both this forum and property investing and I was hoping to pick some brains on a property we are looking at buying.
    At the moment, because we only have about 5% deposit, the property is not entirly cash flow positive, that is the rent covers all the expenses and some of the loan but we will still be out of pocket about $80/wk to service the loan. Because this is our first property, we were thinking that we would purchase it (hopefully cheaper than advertised therefore reducing our out of pocket amount slightly) then refinance in a year or two, which should bring it to a positive cashflow property. Also, it is in a proven growth area and we would look at doing some renos on it becuase the kitchen inparticular looks like its from the stone ages! The property is in SA in an outer suburb of Adelaide.
    Also, do you thing purchasing from photos and the building inspection is sufficant or should we get a buyers agent to look at it?
    Any help or suggestions you can give me would be much apprecitated!
    Thanks in advance![biggrin]

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Heidi

Firstly welcome to the foum and congratulations on taking the first step into property investing.

I will sound like a broken record if you read any of my previous posts but of the things that is of prime importance when starting out is to ensure that you are structured correctly.

Too often i see clients who have gone out and purchased a property and then realise a couple of years later that they have purchased this in the wrong names or entity and that their loan has not been set correctly.

A small bit of time spent getting it right upfront will put you in good stead for the future especially come to Tax time.

Cheers