All Topics / Help Needed! / To buy or to sell??

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of SantoriniwalkSantoriniwalk
    @santoriniwalk

Hello all,

I am new to contribute to these forums but a keen reader! I am about to move into a new PPOR built in Adelaide, which when finished should be worth around $580000 with loan of $400000. I am keen to invest in property but wonder whether to sell the PPOR home to release the cash to purchase reno / investment OR stay and use the equity?
    All advice would be most welcome.
    B

Profile photo of kylieskylies
    @kylies

Hi, as you havent moved into this property as yet if you sell it would be viewed as an investment and you will be liable for CGT.
    I would personally keep this property and use the equity to start buying investments, then if you choose to sell later, you will reduce or eliminate your capital gains liability.

Kylie S
    Mortgage Consultant & Property Investor
    [email protected]

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

I hate to disagree with Kylies but do not believe that the sale will trigger a CGT issue.

The property is nominated as your PPOR and stamp duty will have been paid accordingly. If as a result of other circumstances the property is sold then no CGT will be payabe.

In saying this there is a cost associated with buying and selling so would suggest you stay put and access the equity.

Cheers

Richard Taylor
    Residential & Commercial Finance Broker.
    Licensed Financial Planner. Ph: 07 3720 1888
    [email protected]
    Looking for life cover – We Guarantee to beat any quote you have in writing.

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of kylieskylies
    @kylies