All Topics / Help Needed! / Need advice on PI for absolute beginner

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of boshieboshie
    Participant
    @boshie

Hi All,

I have just discovered this site and it looks amazing, not to say helpful.

My partner & I want to get involved in the big wide world of property investment – but we are absolute beginners.

Our situation is as follows:
    In July of 2005 we purchased our first home (a 1956 brick home) on sydney’s northern beaches for $570k. We got a loan for $520k. Luckily my partner is a fantastic builder and we have been able to renovate and no doubt add value, so we are hoping that we have added value (ie equity) to our home.

We will be speaking to our bank shortly for a valuation and we are thinking (or hoping) to obtain around the $50k equity mark

Our financial situation, however is poor. We do struggle to pay our fortnightly mortgage repayment of $1780.00 as I am a mum and only working part-time. My partner (although he earns around $1900.00 / week) only shows a wage of around $30,000 on his tax return. We don’t have any savings as we pretty much live week to week. We own his vehicle but that is only worth around $10,000.

We are determined however, to make a break into the investment market and will do whatever it takes (although hopefully without having to sell our current home).

I have no idea how much the bank would lend us considering my partner’s $30k income plus my measley $10k per annum (if they even lend us at all). However, on the positive, if they do lend us money I’m assuming we should be starting off really small and preferably looking at something that can be positively geared ( as I doubt we have the $$$ to afford the difference of a negatively geared property).

Any ideas or suggestions on how we should start out would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for taking the time to read my blurb…
    Robyn [biggrin]

Profile photo of BootlaceBootlace
    Participant
    @bootlace