All Topics / Help Needed! / How can I start in PI

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of PtialvPtialv
    @ptialv

Hi All,

i am very new to this PI and bought my house 8 months ago in Melb (my first one). i got a wife (looks after the baby) to look after and the reason i want to do PI is to create some long term income and if possible make a lot of money (as we all wish [biggrin]) now as i think my servicabilty to another loans is not quite high being single income earner and 3 ppl to live off with mortgage and i even dont have enough equity to dig in so i am wondering how can i start PI any suggestion/thougts will be greatly appreciated. i know it is dependent upon personal circumstances but still will like to get some suggestions. Any helping ideas will be appreciated. Yes one more thing i am not a handyman so cant do much renos and even not sure how they are done.

Regards,

[xmas]
    [specool][/right]

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

This question is hard to answer as you have not given any idea about how much you earn. With centrelink payments be careful with negative gearing as a loss is considered as income by Centrelink and it will effect centrelink payments. You also haven’t mentioned what your equity is (this is value of house minus loan amount). If I was you I would book a time with your bank loan officer and ask him or her what you can borrow with the income and equity in your current house.
    If your equity is low you might be better concentrating on extra repayments on your house loan to reduce the loan while your wife is not working. I am the one at home with the babies while my wife works and I have found it hard to borrow money on my current household income levels. So it is worth checking this out first before deciding on investing in property.