All Topics / General Property / Investing – Fibro house

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of paguataopaguatao
    @paguatao

I’m looking to buy a fibro house for an investment, and I have no experience in fibro/weatherboard. Tried to do a search in the forums but it didn’t work.

Value for money-are they cheaper to buy than brick? Or will it still boil down to quality/presentation?

What are the advantages and disadvantages? My dad has strongly advised against it, so I may be in deep trouble if I go ahead [cap]

What’s the difference between an Architect pre-purchase inspection and a regular building inspection?

If I am interested in purchasing, what order of events do I do – get a building and termite inspection first, then put in an offer? Or are they a condition of the offer? Do I do a building inspection first so that I know whether there’s any structural work to be done, and put an offer in accordingly?

Thank you for any advise on fibro houses!

Profile photo of Stuart MilneStuart Milne
    @stuart-milne

ok depending on what state your in will depend on the order of events regarding contracts etc: In Qld the contract is subject to building and pest inspection and finance provided you put that in your offer which will be in most cases on a contract. I have my own form on which I make a formal written offer and fax that signed and dated to the real estate agent handling the sale. They then have it in writing and can discus it with the vendor prior to going to contract.

Always make sure you have 14 days building and pest and 21 days finance although over christmas i would ask to extend these timeframes by seven days using the holidays as the reason and explain this to the agent. I also personally settle 45 days minimum but offer 60 to start. If they want a quicker settlement it gives a great excuse to knock another $5k off your offer!

Stuart Milne

Profile photo of carpe_diemcarpe_diem
    Participant
    @carpe_diem