All Topics / Help Needed! / When does a PPOR become an IP and vice versa?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of jaineybjaineyb
    @jaineyb

Ok heres a question. You have a home that holds no emotional attachment. You move out and rent it out.( never to return as PPOR and want to keep and rent on a longterm capital growth plan)
    When buying it the funds were borroed for the intention of PPOR, can this be changed now the purpose has?

Then then buy IP, but move in temporarly to do reno, then sell. Whats this considered as???. Whats the legalities with CGT? and interest payments for tax purposes. Plus I have an IP ive had for 3 years, if I moved in before selling it, if there a timeframe?

Questions questions[biggrin]

Profile photo of L.A AussieL.A Aussie
    @l.a-aussie

I am not qualified to give advice, but I have some experience in this area.
    I am in this situation at the moment. We have our PPoR in Australia rented out while we are in the U.S.A for 2.5 years. We never intended to use our house for this purpose when we bought it in 2000. There is no mortgage on it – only utilities, insurance, rates, maintenance and now management fees. We do have other I.P’s as well.

But I asked my accountant what the status is on the house while we are away from the point of view of our house being used as an I.P, and he told me that as soon as the house is advertised for rent the property becomes an I.P and as such the outgoings are tax deductable. (yay!)
    Like you, we don’t plan to move back into that house when we return. We intend to move back into the same neighborhood, but rent a cheaper house than ours. Thus we should be able to make a surplus on the rent. It is a purely non-emotional, financial decision.