All Topics / Help Needed! / Young and just starting out

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of diggodiggo
    @diggo

Hello, I’d just like to introduce myself first and give you my situation (although I have posted here a few times a while ago). PS: Please bear with me as I have very little knowledge on PI.

I’m 17 years old (18 in a month) and I’ve been interested in property investing since a very young age! At the moment I just have a casual job giving me around $200-$250/week. Next year I should be making around $250-$300/week before I get a full time job. I can save around 80% of that each week. I have just paid off my car and have approximately $4,000 in savings and live at home of course. I’m not looking to buy an IP yet, hopefully when I am 20. By that time I hope to have around $20-$25k in savings.

Ok now I saw a story a couple of weeks ago on Today Tonight about some ordinary bloke who just purchased his 136th IP. They definately made it look a lot easier than done! But he reckons that he has been purchasing cheap properties in Broken Hill etc for around $100k or less. These are the sort of ones I am interested in. Apparently, these houses can generate up to $150 in rent. Is that true? If so, is it worth it when you factor in all the extra fees/charges involved in buying and maintaining the property? Also, am I elegible for the FHOG? Or is that only if I am going to live in the house?

Anyway, how much will I need for a deposit on a $100k house? Just 10%? Would it be better to have 20 or 30% instead? Should I pay the first one off before buying a 2nd? What do you find are the best methods?

Finally, does anyone have any advice for where to buy in NSW?

Sorry about all the questions but I would really appreciate your help! I also realise that I have to read a lot of books [ohno] hehe

Cheers,
    Brett

Profile photo of vicsanswvicsansw
    @vicsansw

Hi Brett,