All Topics / Help Needed! / is it worth it ?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of menteementee
    Participant
    @mentee

I saw a house in my target area, which advertised for $75K less than the average. the catch is half of the actual house dropped to probably 50-100mm (stumps problem). in one of the bedroom, the floor has sinked about 50 mm (gap from the bottom of the wall to to the ground). I like the property due to its great location and i’m considering it as my first IP. My question is==> Is it worth it, considering that i’m still a beginner and don’t know any builder to help me fixing the problem, to buy and fix the slope???
    i have asked a couple of friends, and the telling me that the house needs serious re-stumping done asap.
    Anyone with similar experience???
    Thanks guys.

Profile photo of js2js2
    @js2

I did re-stumping in my construction coarse.

Apart from being a bit of an uncomfortable thing to do there is not much to it. All a stump is a red gum stump usually sitting on a sole plate which is a bit of red gum again which the stump sits on in under the ground. It is a rectangle shaped flat bit of wood supposedly to prevent the stump from sinking. Or can be concrete. the floor joint that runs across and lies on the upright stump can sometimes be just simply jacked up at each stump and as I said a bit of flat wood placed between the stump and the joinst effectively holding the floor which in turn holds the house up level.

The stumps are the houses legs you have got a room with legs a little short because over time they have slowly sank into the ground is my guess.

I have never actually re-stumped just completely done them new from the start but you may be able to just jack the area up each stump at a time and put a peaces of wood under each stump ‘top’ until level, it will probably only be a few of them unleveled.