All Topics / Overseas Deals / USA-LAND TRUST AGREEMENTS

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of csimonscsimons
    Participant
    @csimons

Hi ALL,

Just wandered if anyone currently investing in the U.S has done so purchasing under a land trust agreement?

I learnt about this strategy on my last U.S trip and it can be a very powerful vehicle in increasing your property acquisitions quickly.

There are always risks involved by basically under this strategy you control the risk.

It is a totally legal avenue of acquiring property. Basically they are legal contracts written up by an Attorney being the actual land trust agreement itself and the property is acquired through the land trust.

Again I am new to this which is why I am wanting to see if anyone else has done it.

Basically they are done for people who are foreclosing on there homes. You buy the home off them by taking over the payments etc and the existing loan. The drawcard here is that you basically acquire all the equity in the property.

The deposit varies because you as the new owner basically “pays the arrears of what’s owning to the bank” being the payments the existing owner has missed.

I had an opportunity when I was there to pick up a brand new home in a good neighbourhood for $7k USD because that’s what the arrears was the owner hadn’t paid.

Under the land trust agreement, I would have legally purchased the home (title in my name etc) however the loan with the bank would have still been in the original owners name. I just take over the repayments. This way the bank “thinks they previous owners are back on track” I save them from getting a black credit rating and it cost me $7k to pick up a home with $30k equity in it.

I didn’t but this deal because I didn’t know enough about land trust agreements but have been researching it since them and it seems a good way to go as another vehicle.