All Topics / Value Adding / Adding Window Shutters

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of DraconisVDraconisV
    Participant
    @draconisv

In Rolf De Roos; Real Estate Riches book he talk about how you can build a carport to instantly add more value to the property and to gain extra rent. Would adding like ‘modern'(the company) window shutters work the same way. Would it allow you to add more to the weekly rent.
    Would this be a smart and easy and cheap thing to do?

Christopher.

Profile photo of ArtaudArtaud
    Participant
    @artaud

Hi.

I’m familiar with Dolf’s book and know how much he loves his carports. I would suggest, though I’m no expert, that more people would be interestd in keeping their car dry than in making their house look like Fort Knox. While security is certainly an issue (and I imagine you might score value points with, say, the elderly) I’m not sure how much broad value appeal roller shutters would add.

Plus, Dolf’s point is that a carport is usually quite cheap to erect so the small increase in rent it provides basically pays for the thing quickly. How much are roller shutters?

Perhaps you could call a couple real estate valuers and ask for their advice?

Good luck.
    Art

‘Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.’ – Albert Einstein

Profile photo of DraconisVDraconisV
    Participant
    @draconisv

Could we build the carport on our own. Like we obtain the materials and construct it. I guess that would cut the price of it.

Hmm, my 6 months of renovating(to obtain the FHOG) will be very full. This house I will purchase around 200k will have to be worth 300k when im done with it, increase in rent and also alot of equity to move to the next deal.

Nice, nice,nice.

Christopher.

Profile photo of woodrowwoodrow
    @woodrow

Hi DraconisV
    (cool nickname by the way!)
    Just a couple of quick questions if you dont mind.